Total votes cast for the top 10 revealed for the 2022 Ballon d’Or 

2023 Ballon d’Or: Award to commence 6pm Nigerian time, full list of nominees

It has been revealed that Karim Benzema, the captain of Real Madrid, won this year’s Ballon d’Or award by a 356-vote margin.

Benzema triumphed over Sadio Mane to take first position.

It is the second-largest victory in the award’s history, after only Cristiano Ronaldo’s victory by 429 votes in 2016.

After scoring 44 goals for Real Madrid last season in all competitions as they won both the LaLiga and the Champions League, Benzema received 549 votes.

After contributing to Manchester City’s title victory, Kevin De Bruyne placed third, 18 votes behind Mane.

Only five votes separated Mo Salah from the podium, and Robert Lewandowski finished fourth.


  • Karim Benzema- 549 votes
  • Sadio Mane- 193 votes
  • Kevin De Bruyne- 175 votes
  • Robert Lewandowski: 170 votes
  • Mo Salah: 116 votes
  • Kylian Mbappe: 85 votes
  • Thibaut Courtois: 82 votes
  • Vinicius Junior: 61 votes
  • Luka Modric: 20 votes
  • Erling Haaland: 18 votes